EU Prize for Literature 2019 winners announced

14 emerging authors from across Europe have been announced as laureates of the 2019 European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL).

On 22 May, the laureates of the European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) 2019 were officially announced.

The announcement was made by Tibor Navracsics, the European Commissioner for Education, Youth, Sport and Culture, and the Romanian Minister of Culture and National Identity, Mr Valer-Daniel Breaz, at the Permanent representation of Romania to the European Union in Brussels. 

The EUPL 2019 laureates are: 

• Laura Fredenthaler (Austria)

• Piia Leino (Finland)

• Sophie Daull (France)

• Réka Mán-Várhegyi (Hungary) 

• Beqa Adamashvili (Georgia)

• Nikos Chryssos (Greece) 

• Jan Carson (Ireland) 

• Giovanni Dozzini (Italy) 

• Daina Opolskaite (Lithuania) 

• Marta Dzido (Poland)

• Tatiana Țîbuleac (Romania) 

• Ivana Dobrakovová (Slovakia) 

• Halya Shyyan (Ukraine) 

• Melissa Harrison (United Kingdom) 

The EUPL is an award which recognises outstanding new and emerging literary talents across Europe, and highlights the wealth of contemporary European literature.

Read more